25
Apr
08

Let Me Put You On Game: The Soul Edition

When you listen to a lot of Hip Hop, it’s only natural for you to explore other genres to see their influence on Hip Hop. The first soul album I bought was Al Green’s Call Me, which is still one of my favorite albums of all time. From there I just went on to the basics, Marvin, Isaac, Curtis, Donny, Stevie, Aretha, etc. At first, I felt like an idiot when I realized RZA didn’t compose I Can’t Go To Sleep, but after discovering soul classics, soul music became one of my favorite genres. So I figured I’d share the love with ya’ll. Once again, this is by no means a definitive soul list or anything like that, but these are the songs that made me fall in love with soul music. Maybe they can do the same for you.

Let Me Put You On Game: The Soul Edition Mix

(15 Songs, 54 Minutes, STREAMING/DOWNLOAD LINKS BELOW)

in chronological order

1. Intro

2. (What A) Wonderful World by Sam Cooke: Sam Cooke was a soul pioneer. He really broke through barriers and achieved mainstream success while not sacrificing his messages (A Change Gon’ Come). He gets underrated a lot, and some people think of him as boring, but check out his album One Night Stand: Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 which is one of my favorite live recordings.

3. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man by Aretha Franklin: The queen of soul. Her lyrics were poetic and her voice was mesmerizing.

4. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood by Nina Simone: Nina Simone is one of my favorite female singers. She just embodies everything that comes with soul music. Her music was often political, and she wasn’t your average soul singer singing about love on every track.

5. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay by Otis Redding: I don’t listen to too much Otis Redding, but this song and his debut album of the same name paved the way for a lot of soul musicians.

6. Walk On By by Isaac Hayes: This is one of my favorite songs of all time. I was pissed when I realized the Wu basically just rapped over the instrumental. Isaac Hayes sung with such passion.

7. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue by Curtis Mayfield: Curtis is arguably the most soulful soul singer. His music just took you to a different place. Kanye didn’t create Touch The Sky by the way. Anyways, this is one of my favorite songs by Cuuuuuuuuuuurtis.

8. A Song For You by Donny Hathaway: One of the most underrated soul singers. He could compose some beautiful ballads, and this one is my favorite of his.

9. Sweet Wanomi by Bill Withers: Bill Withers is a real unique soul singer. He kind of had a country music sound to his music. You probably know him best for Ain’t No Sunshine, so I figured I’d play something else of his. He’s got a great voice too.

10. Tired Of Being Alone by Al Green: Alright, Al Green is my personal favorite, and one of my favorite musicians of all time. I can’t even explain it, just listen to him sing his soul out.

11. I’m Still In Love With You by Al Green: Just what this man could do his voice…damn…just listen.

12. I’ll Be Around by The Spinners: There were plenty of soul groups, but few had a lot of success. Most just had one hit wonders. Still, The Spinners were pretty successful, and this is a great song.

13. Down And Out In New York City by James Brown: The Godfather of Soul. You know how you have that one big hole in your music collection that you’ve been meaning to address? Well James Brown is that hole for me. I just haven’t really gotten around to his music yet. Which is weird, because he’s one of the most sampled artists in Hip Hop. Still, everything I’ve heard from him, including this joint, is great.

14. Let’s Get It On by Marvin Gaye: I know, I know…you’ve heard this song a million times. It’s been raped by movies, TV shows, and even commercials. I was going to choose a different Marvin song, but I don’t care. Pretend like you’re hearing this one for the first time. Marvin is the face of soul music, and his work needs to be studied to understand music today.

15. Living For The City by Stevie Wonder: Stevie is another legend. He has also had such an impact on the way music is today. I don’t listen to him enough, but this is one of my favorite songs of his.

DOWNLOAD LINKS

Streaming & Download Mixed .mp3 File (Zshare)

.Zip File, Unmixed, Separate Tracks (Megaupload)

Guide To Downloading

5 Responses to “Let Me Put You On Game: The Soul Edition”


  1. April 26, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Sam Cooke is more underrated by mainstream America than by those who saw him in concert and certainly other artists. And while his performance of “Wonderful World” may seem tame, I’m glad you point out the “other” side of Sam when you reference his “Live at the Harlem Square Club” album.

    What made Sam Cooke a musical genius is that he intentionally targeted crossover success (and achieved it in songs like “Wonderful World”), yet he was able to rise to meet the desires of his audience. The fact that he was able to tear down the house at a gospel concert (the Shrine Auditorium, 1954), a pop concert (“Harlem Square Club”), or even in front of a sophisticated supper-club audience (“Live at the Copa”), showed his amazing talent and versatility. Can you call him underrated? Only because there may not be a stronger word. I chose to call him “one of the most multi-talented, multi-faceted individuals to have lived in the 20th Century,” a claim that’s genuinely hard to argue.

    Erik Greene
    Great-nephew of Sam Cooke
    Author, “Our Uncle Sam: The Sam Cooke Story From His Family’s Perspective”
    http://www.OurUncleSam.com

  2. April 26, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Great selection of soul faves. All classics! I too love music of that genre and time as well as Pop and Rock of the Sixties and early Seventies. They don’t make them like the used to now – do they. Take care.

  3. 3 Graham
    May 2, 2008 at 6:04 am

    schorsch-

    finally catching up to these mixes and they’re great. thought i’d let you know you’re missing a track listing between don’t let me be misunderstood and sitting on the dock of the bay (sadly its a tune i don’t recognize…it’s gorgeous whatever it is). nice work man. i think i’m acutally gonna update my blog for the first time in months this weekend. been outrageously busy in my corner.

    on another note, glad to hear that you’re gonna be in our corner next year. l&c is beautiful and portland quite literally is the mfing truth.

    you gonna be at echo this summer?

  4. 4 mashpg
    May 2, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Thanks for the comment guys. I appreciate the insider knowledge Sam’s Neph, I couldn’t have said it better myself. A true legend.

    Thanks for letting me know Graham, I fixed that. That song is Do Right Woman, Do Right Man by Aretha Franklin. I’ll definitely check your blog. And yea, I’m excited for the that part of the country…it seems real beautiful. And yup, I’ll be holding down the cabins 2 and 3. Hope to see you up there.

  5. 5 Graham
    May 3, 2008 at 12:30 am

    word. i figured out the name of the song w/ the power of google before this post. the PNW is the spot.

    sadly i’m not gonna be in fremont this summer, but we will catch up when you’re out in these parts. i haven’t made it down to portland as much as i would have liked to this past year, but hopefully that’ll change soon enough. that city is the truth.


Leave a Reply

